Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_4091

I remember when I was sixteen and had just started baking as a hobby, I came home from school on a rainy summer day and decided to make orange flavored muffins with blueberries as an after-school treat while listening to the sound of the roaring thunder and pouring rain.

 Earlier this summer when I was relaxing at home, there was a similar thunderstorm which put me in the mood to bake something. I knew that my mom was going to be home from work soon and thought it would be a pleasant surprise for her to have freshly baked sweet treats on the kitchen table to enjoy with her cup of tea.

 After making my last recipe, the citrus sugar cookie bars which I garnished with berries (see my last post), I still had tons of blueberries left over. I did not want them to go bad so I quickly thought of another recipe I could whip up with them and other ingredients I already had in the kitchen. Blueberries are actually one of my favorite fruits to incorporate into baked goods. I’m a huge fan of homemade blueberry muffins, blueberry scones, blueberry pie, etc. I’m sure I would be more likely to pick blueberry muffins over chocolate chip ones any time (Shocking, isn’t it?). I especially love to pair these berries with citrus fruits. Together, their flavors feel light and refreshing, and perfectly ideal for the summer!

 Since I had already baked orange-blueberry muffins in the past, this time I went for lemon-blueberry scones. What I love about scones is that they are so easy and versatile to make and they have an incredibly delicious flaky texture. These particular scones are also going to taste nice and tangy from the fruit flavors.

 Scones are really good with tea or coffee and can even be embellished with some whipped cream or pastry cream filling. I have actually made an orange pastry cream filling in the past to go with my chocolate chip scones (click here to see this recipe) but this time I just wanted to eat the scones on their own.

IMG_4089

 Here are some important tips to remember when making this recipe. First, make sure your butter is very cold. This will ensure that your scones will turn out with the right flaky texture. I usually leave my stick of butter in the fridge until I absolutely need to use it. Second, toss your blueberries with a few tablespoons of your flour before incorporating them into the scone dough. That way, your blueberries will be well dispersed throughout your scones instead of all sinking to the bottom. Finally, flour your counter generously because the dough can be quite sticky to work with.

 Ingredients –

IMG_4081

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup granulated white sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, cold

Zest of 1 lemon

Juice of half a lemon

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1 cup of blueberries

Egg wash (1 egg whisked with 1 tbsp of water)

 

1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Line 1-2 baking sheet(s) with parchment paper.

3. Toss the blueberries in 1-2 tbsp of the flour

4. Combine the rest of the flour with the baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar, and lemon zest.

5. In a separate bowl, combine the egg with the milk and lemon juice.

6. Cut the cold stick of butter into small cubes and incorporate them into the dry flour mixture using 2 forks, a pastry blender, or by hand.

IMG_4082 IMG_4083

7. Pour in and incorporate the wet mixture into the dry mixture.

IMG_4085

8. Fold in the blueberries carefully.

IMG_4086

9. Transfer the dough from the mixing bowl to a well floured counter.

10. Knead the dough a little and pat it down to form a flat disk or square.

11. Cut the dough into 8 scones and transfer them to the baking sheet(s).

12. Brush the top of each scone with the egg wash so that they come out of the oven with a beautiful golden brown color when they are ready.

13. Bake them in the oven for 20 minutes.

 IMG_4090

 

 

 

 

 

