Tags

, , , , , ,

chosnickerdoodle_cover

After a couple of days of adjusting to my new classes and schedule, I decided to spend an afternoon baking cookies with friends during my first weekend back in college.

 

I made sure to pack a lot of my baking supplies and ingredients with me before leaving home because I definitely want to make time to bake and keep up with my blog during the spring semester even if I cannot post every single week. It’s going to be a busy semester for me so I plan to create easier and quicker dessert recipes while I’m on campus but they’re still going to be very creative and delicious!!

 

I really wanted to make chocolate chip cookies since it had been a while since I last baked them from scratch but I also wanted to create a spin on the traditional recipe. When I looked at all the ingredients I brought with me, I noticed that I still had a lot of spices left, especially ground cinnamon. Snickerdoodles were the first thing that came to mind! (They are similar to sugar cookies except they are rolled in cinnamon-sugar). So I thought…why not combine chocolate chip and snickerdoodle flavors into a single cookie recipe? I know from previous successful dessert recipes that cinnamon and chocolate taste amazing together so I was really excited to try this idea!

 

While it’s usually more convenient to bake at home, I actually had a really fun time making these cookies with the help of my friends and I was glad there were more people around to share them with!

 

The parts I enjoyed the most during the baking process were definitely adding the chocolate chips and rolling the cookie dough in cinnamon sugar!

 

The first few times I made cookies by myself, I found out that it was quite time-consuming to roll pieces of cookie dough into little balls manually from the huge bowl of cookie batter, and then transfer them over to the baking sheet. Even though I love to follow old-fashioned cooking and baking methods, I really wanted a cookie scoop to rely on for this particular task.

 

Thankfully, I purchased one online a few months ago. I have to say that it’s definitely a baking tool worth having. It is so handy and makes it a lot easier to obtain evenly shaped cookies and to roll the balls of cookie dough into cinnamon sugar without leaving any sticky mess behind!

chosnickerdoodle4

 ~Chocolate Chip Snickerdoodle Cookies~

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature

1/4 cup granulated white sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup 2 tbsp all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

Cinnamon Sugar

1/4 cup granulated white sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

 

1. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter with the granulated white sugar and light brown sugar.

chosnickerdoodle1

2. Add the egg and the vanilla extract to the butter mixture.

3. In another mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt.

4. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and fold in the chocolate chips.

chosnickerdoodle2

5. Refrigerate the cookie dough for 30 minutes.

6. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

7. In a small bowl, mix the granulated sugar and ground cinnamon together to make cinnamon sugar.

8. Using a cookie scoop or a 1tbsp measuring spoon, scoop out the dough, roll it in the cinnamon sugar, place it on the baking sheets, and flatten it slightly on top.

chosnickerdoodle5 chosnickerdoodle6

9. Bake the cookies for 12 minutes and let them cool for 10 minutes.

chosnickerdoodle7 chosnickerdoodle9

These cookies were pleasantly soft when they came out of the oven and the cinnamon sugar on the outside and warm chocolate chips on the inside melted together at every bite. However even when the cookies cooled down and became crispier around the edges, they were still wonderful to eat as the flavor of the cinnamon and bittersweet chocolate intensified and the overall crispiness blended well with the crunchy texture of the cinnamon-sugar coating.

 

 

