Tags

, , , ,

caramelbrowniesfirstpicture

As the spring semester is fast approaching, I dedicated this week to hanging out a few more times with my high school friends, packing, packing, and packing, breaking up with Netflix, and typing up this post about my last winter break dessert recipe.

 

Since it was a pretty chilly Tuesday, my friend and I spent the whole afternoon enjoying some of our favorite comfort food. We went to a Vietnamese restaurant and had a big bowl of warm chicken noodle soup for lunch and came back to my house to bake brownies for dessert.

 

Luckily, I still had enough dark cocoa powder as well as a bag of tempting Ghirardelli milk chocolate with caramel filling that was just waiting to be opened.

 caramelbrownies3

If you look at my previous posts, you’ll know that I am a huge fan of dark chocolate (I’m a huge fan of chocolate in general, but if I had to choose, I’d take dark over milk/white chocolate any day!). That’s why I wanted to make dark chocolate brownies. However, since my friend loves milk chocolate, I thought it would be a good idea to add a layer of delicious milk chocolate and caramel in the middle to cut the slight bitterness of the dark chocolate flavor and improve its allure and presentation.

 

~Dark Chocolate Caramel-Filled Brownies~

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 10 milk chocolate squares w/caramel filling

 1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit, butter a square pan, and line it with parchment paper.

2. Melt the butter and add in the sugar, cocoa powder, eggs, vanilla extract, and whole milk.

3. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt and fold the flour mixture into the butter mixture.

4. Pour about half of the brownie batter into the prepared pan.

5. Arrange the chocolate squares on top (you can break them or leave them whole) then pour the remaining half of the batter in.

caramelbrownies4

6. Bake the brownies in the oven for 40 minutes, let cool to room temperature, and cut into 16 squares.

 

These brownies are overall very soft & fudgy in texture and the thin middle layer of caramel gives them a wonderful, heavenly sweet taste. As each bite melts in your mouth, you can feel the intensity of the dark & milk chocolate combination and the sweetness of the caramel complementing each other. If you want to make this dessert all the more delightful, you can also warm up a piece and then top it off with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream.

caramelbrownies5

 

This quick and simple recipe along with a couple of funny YouTube videos successfully brightened my friend’s Tuesday as well as mine! ^_^

 

 

