Tags

,

image5

While I was super excited to live in a college dorm for the first time when summer was over, I was definitely worried that I wouldn’t find a way or time to bake whenever I felt like it. I already knew I would miss the kitchen at home where I easily stored a lot of my ingredients and baking pans.

 For the first couple of weeks, I was still getting adjusted to college life and I was way too busy to think about new dessert recipes.

 However, as the tree leaves on campus slowly turned red and orange and it started to feel more and more like fall, I felt an increasing urge to bake and was a bit frustrated that I didn’t have any proper equipment with me. I’ve always loved making sweet treats in the fall and winter! I always looked forward to buying pumpkin puree, pecans, or dried cranberries as well as using familiar spices like cinnamon, ginger, or cloves.

 A treat I particularly look forward to during fall is pumpkin bread! It’s so simple to make but extremely delicious and addicting to eat! My roommate actually went to the farmer’s market one Saturday to buy a fresh pumpkin bread but they must have ran out. That’s when I finally made up my mind to grab my wallet and reusable grocery bags and head to the nearest grocery store which happened to be Food Lion. I made a lengthy list of everything I’d need to bake (not only the pumpkin bread but any dessert) and walked back to my dorm building with a heavy bag filled w/spices, vanilla extract, flour, a loaf pan, a baking spatula, a can of pumpkin puree, etc.

 I’m grateful that the building where I live has a common kitchen and that it was free for me to use that night. With the help of my roommate and some hallmates, I baked for the first time in a college dorm! I don’t know if it was because I had such a huge craving for pumpkin bread or because I went through more trouble than usual to bake it but it tasted even better than I thought it would.

 ~Pumpkin Bread~

 Ingredients:

      • 3 1/2 cups All Purpose flour
      • 1 tsp baking soda
      • 1 tsp baking powder
      • 1/2 tsp salt
      • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
      • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
      • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
      • 1 1/2 cup granulated white sugar
      • 1 cup melted unsalted butter
      • 4 eggs
      • 1 can of pure pumpkin puree
      • 1/2 cup water
      • 1 tsp vanilla extract

 

      1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and butter 2 loaf pans.
      2. In one bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves.
      3. In a separate mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, granulated white sugar, melted unsalted butter, pumpkin puree, water, and vanilla extract.
      4. Add the pumpkin puree mixture to the flour mixture, incorporating the wet and dry ingredients together.
      5. Divide the pumpkin bread batter between 2 loaf pans and bake in the oven for 60 to 65 minutes.

 To me, baking and eating pumpkin bread during the fall season is definitely a must! If you agree, try this delicious, foolproof recipe! (I didn’t mean to make this rhyme)

 

